Skip to Main Content

SMHS: Resources

Quick Database List

[bolded items in red are paid subscriptions]

Destiny Online Catalog

Overdrive eBooks

SIRS Issues Researcher and Renaissance

Free Databases

Google Scholar

Access scholarly works published to the open web.

Artcyclopedia

Information on artists and art movements, links to museums worldwide.

Science.gov

Searches over 45 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, covering research and development results.

BadgerLink Databases

Badgerlink, a project of the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI), seeks to promote information literacy and access throughout the for all Wisconsin residents in cooperation with the state's public, school, academic, and special libraries. You can search all databases by going to the Badgerlink SuperSearch.  Individual resources provided by BadgerLink include:

Newspaper ARCHIVE logo

Access Newspaper Archives

Fully searchable PDF images of historic newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s.

Auto Repair Reference Center logo

Auto Repair Reference Center

This is a comprehensive collection of automobile repair reference pamphlets and manuals dating from 1945 to present.

EBSCOhost logo

EBSCO Business Resources

Search Business Source Premier and Regional Business News separately, or search across all EBSCO business resources at one.

Consumer Health Complete logo

Consumer Health Complete

This is a consumer-oriented health content, covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

Consumer Reports

Articles on health, public safety, marketplace, economics and the judicial & regulatory actions that affect consumers, hosted by EBSCOhost.

EBSCO Magazine Database

Search everything EBSCO offers through Badgerlink.  Choose from a menu that includes many of the items in this list and customize your search to your needs. Language learners, search EBSCOhost Español.

EBSCOhost logo

EBSCO Student Research Center

This search interface was designed specifically for secondary school students, providing access to magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports and film and video.  You can even search by Lexile.

Educational Research Databases

A collection of databases, including: Education Research Complete, Educational Administration Abstracts, ERIC, and Professional Development Collection.

 

‚Äč

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia logo

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia

General encyclopedic entries cover a variety of subject areas aimed at the general public.

GreenFILE logo

GreenFILE

The is a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest articles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.

History Reference Center logo

History Reference Center

Full text articles from reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, history periodicals, historical documents, and biographies, as well as historical images, and historical video.  Interested in a more personal look at history.  HeritageQuest Online Geneology resources, including U.S. Federal Census records, full text family and local histories, Revolutionary War records, Freedman's Bank records and much more!

Humanities International Complete

Full text journals, books and other published sources aimed as students of the philosophy and the arts.

Learning Express Library

A collection of web-based test preparation tools and skill-building materials for children, teens, and adults.  Prep modules cover AP and college entrance exams, plus common tests such as the GED, workplace skills and more!

Literary Reference Center logo

Literary Reference Center

Offers a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to present day literature. Looking for more?  Check out  LitFinder for full-text poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays as well as criticism on all forms of literature.

Medical Research Databases

Includes a number of professional resources, including: AHFS Consumer Medication Information, Alt HealthWatch, Consumer Health Complete, Health Source: Consumer Edition and Nursing/Academic Edition, MEDLINE, and PubMed.

Merriam-Webster Dictionary

This is the largest, most comprehensive American dictionary currently available in print or online.

Military & Government Collection

Access to current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

Newspaper Source Plus logo

Newspapers Source Plus

Full text newspapers, television and radio news transcripts.  For local news, check out Wisconsin Newspapers, and for near real-time world news, check out News access to the world news wire (AP, UPI, etc.)

NoveList logo

Novelist

This is a virtual readers' advisory service, providing access to information on fiction titles as well as feature content including author read-alikes, book discussion guides, reading lists and more.

Science Reference Center logo

Science Reference Center

Easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented encyclopedias, reference books and periodicals covering all areas of science.  Looking for more?  Check out Digital Science Online, a host of multi-media resources including science images, animations, and video for K-12 students.

Image result for soundzabound

SoundzAbound

Royalty free music for use by schools.

IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT HOME ACCESS:  If your internet service provider is Wisconsin-based it is likely that you will not need to login in.  If, however, you have a nationally based ISP, such as U-Verse or AOL, you may need to input a library card number.  

News Resources

News Websites

 

News Video sites

Once you search, choose the "video" tab to filter results.

Search and then look to the left sidebar on the search results page to filter your results by video.